Museums in Ladenburg

Lobdengau-Museum in Bischofshof

LOPODUNUM was one of the most significant Roman metropoles in southern Germany. The remains of a forum with a basilica bears witness to this. The Lobdengau-Museum in Ladenburg is currently showing numerous spectacular archaeological finds. Archaeological discoveries from all prehistorical and early history Epochs are exhibited in the stately Bischofshof, once a residence of the Bishop of Worms. The museum also grants insights to the moving history and folk culture of the town’s medieval and modern times on all four floors. For example, numerous items mirror the Christian and Jewish life in the community, or the time of the Baden revolution of 1848.

ContactOpen Hours
Amtshof 1
68526 Ladenburg
Tel.: 06203 / 70271 (Mon.–Fri.)
Tel.: 06203 / 70270 (Sat.–Sun.)
E-Mail | Web

Wed. 15–18 o’clock
Sat. 14–17 o’clock
Sun. 11–17 o’clock

Closed:
24.–26.12., 31.12. und 1.1.

Further information can be obtained outside the museum’s operating hours at the Tourist Info Office.

Information about the Stiftung Lobdengau-Museum

Admission Prices

Who Prices
Individuals EUR 3.50
Discounts (with pass): Children and Youths 18 and younger, School children, trade learners and students no older 28 years old, financial assistance or unemployment money (Arbeitslosengeld II) recipients, Senior basic income recipients, Asylum applicant monies recipients, national volunteer service people (in accordance with the BFDG), or those who serve a social or ecological volunteer year (FSJ/FÖJ) EUR 2.00
Family Ticket Parents or Grandparents with children not older than18 years of age EUR 7.00
Children not older than 6 years of age free
Adult groups of 15 persons or more, per person EUR 2.00
School groups of 15 persons or more, per person EUR 1.00
Children from Ladenburg schools (School groups in accompaniment of a teacher) free

Guides for School Classes (max. 25 persons):
14-day preregistration via registration form
Price per tour + admission: EUR 25.00 + admission

Private tours for groups (max. 25 persons):
14-day preregistration via registration form
Price per tour + admission: EUR 40.00 + admission

Automuseum Dr. Carl Benz

Around 300 vehicles with the “C. Benz & Söhne” lettering on the radiator were built in the “Benz Town”, Ladenburg. Two of the rare vehicles are still here. The private car from Carl Benz and the the “C. Benz & Söhne” company car can be found in the Dr. Carl Benz, Automuseum, which is located in the historical factory building. In addition to documents from estate of the automobile pioneer there is also a peek into Carl Benz’ original study. This automobile museum is the only one in the entire world that is located in the actual original production factory.

Separated into five areas, the visitors can experience the history of mobility - from the first Automobile in the world, the Benz Patent motorcar, to the Mercedes-Benz Formel 1 racing car – and tramp through the history of the two-wheeler - from the original Draisienne, invented by the Baron von Drais, to the colorful motor rollers of the fifties. This makes the Automuseum Dr. Carl Benz in the “old Benz factory” an impressive witness of the rolling past.

AddressOpen Hours
Ilvesheimer Straße 26
68526 Ladenburg
E-Mail | Web
Saturday, Sunday and Wednesday
14–18 o’clock

Admission Prices

Who Prices
Adults EUR 5.00
Children EUR 3.00
Family Ticket (Parents with children under 14 years of age) EUR 10.00
Groups of no more than 15 persons (per person) EUR 4.00
Guide EUR 50.00
Groups by appointment call 06203 / 181786

Carl-Benz House

On June 21, 1905, Bertha and Carl Benz bought the estate at today’s address: Dr.-Carl-Benz-Platz 2. The park-like garden that ambles on the river bend is a part of the property. Under high trees, Carl Benz had a garage built in the style of a well-fortified tower, in which he stored his “Benz-Victoria” next to a small workshop and study. It was in this Villa where Carl Benz was honored as an automobile pioneer. He lived here until his death in 1929. His wife, Bertha, died in 1944. The are both buried under a memorial at the Ladenburg Cemetery.

An exhibit is now on the garden story of the villa that is primarily dedicated to the engineering achievements of Carl Benz. A replica of the famous “Benz Patent Motorcar” and a model of the ignition,  steering, and carburetor are on display. A series of personal memorabilia as well as information about Carl Benz’ life as an engineer, entrepreneur and private man convey a living memory of the great pioneer of the automobile.

AddressOpen Hours
Dr.-Carl-Benz-Platz 2
68526 Ladenburg
Tel.: 06203/10920
E-Mail

Sun. 14–17 o’clock



Ladenburg Auction House and Toy Exhibit

AddressGallery business hours
Lustgartenstraße 6
68526 Ladenburg
Tel.: 06203 / 13014
Fax: 06203 / 17193
E-Mail | Web
Tuesday – Sunday: 9–19 o’clock

Lobdengau-Museum im Bischofshof

LOPODUNUM war eine der bedeutendsten römischen Metropolen in Südwestdeutschland. Davon zeugen u. a. die Reste eines imposanten Forums mit Basilika. Eine Vielzahl z. T. spektakulärer Funde zeigt das Lobdengau-Museum der Stadt Ladenburg. Im imposanten Bischofshof, einst Residenz der Bischöfe von Worms, werden archäologische Entdeckungen aus allen vor- und frühgeschichtlichen Epochen präsentiert. Auf vier Ebenen gewährt das Museum außerdem Einblicke in die bewegte Geschichte und Volkskultur der mittelalterlichen und neuzeitlichen Stadt. Zahlreiche Einzelobjekte spiegeln z. B. das christliche und jüdische Gemeindeleben oder die Zeit der Badischen Revolution von 1848 wider.

KontaktÖffnungszeiten
Amtshof 1
68526 Ladenburg
Tel.: 06203 / 70271 (Mo.–Fr.)
Tel.: 06203 / 70270 (Sa.–So.)
E-Mail | Web

Mi. 15–18 Uhr
Sa. 14–17 Uhr
So. 11–17 Uhr

Geschlossen:
24.–26.12., 31.12. und 1.1.

Weitere Auskünfte erhalten Sie auch außerhalb der Öffnungszeiten des  Museums bei der Stadtinformation.

Informationen über die Stiftung Lobdengau-Museum

Eintrittspreise

Wer Kosten
Einzelpersonen EUR 3,50
Jugendliche bis 18 J., Schüler, Auszubildende, Studierende, Wehr- u. Ersatzdienstleistende, Schwerbehinderte (ab 50% mit Ausweis) EUR 2,00
Familienkarte: Eltern oder Großeltern mit Kindern bis 18 Jahren EUR 7,00
Schülergruppen ab 15 Pers., pro Person EUR 1,00
Erwachsenengruppen ab 15 Pers., pro Person EUR 2,00
Kinder bis 6 Jahre frei


Führungen für Schulklassen (bis max. 25 Personen):

14-tägiger Voranmeldung bei der Stadtinformation
Tel.: 06203 / 922603
Preis pro Führung zzgl. Eintrittspreis: 25,00 +Eintritt

Private Führungen für Gruppen (bis max. 25 Personen)
14-tägiger Voranmeldung bei der Stadtinformation:
Tel.: 06203 / 922603
Preis pro Führung zzgl. Eintrittspreis: 40,00 +Eintritt

Automuseum Dr. Carl Benz

Rund 300 Fahrzeuge mit dem "C. Benz & Söhne"-Schriftzug auf dem Kühler wurden in der "Benz- Stadt" Ladenburg gebaut. Zwei dieser seltenen Fahrzeuge gibt es noch heute. Der Privatwagen von Carl Benz und der "C. Benz & Söhne"-Firmenwagen stehen im Automuseum Dr. Carl Benz, das im historischen Fabrikgebäude untergebracht ist. Neben vielen Dokumenten aus dem Nachlass des Automobilpioniers gibt es auch einen Einblick in das original erhaltene Arbeitszimmer von Carl Benz. Das Automuseum ist weltweit das einzige, das sich in einer echten ehemaligen Produktionsstätte befindet.

In fünf Bereichen erleben Besucher die Geschichte der Mobilität vom 1. Automobil der Welt, dem Benz Patent-Motorwagen bis zum Mercedes Benz-Formel 1 Rennwagen und durchwandern die Geschichte des Zweirades vom Laufrad des Freiherrn von Drais bis zu den bunten Motorrollern der 50 er Jahre. Das Automuseum Dr. Carl Benz in der "alten Benz-Fabrik" ist damit ein eindrucksvoller Zeitzeuge der rollenden Vergangenheit.

AnschriftÖffnungezeiten
Ilvesheimer Straße 26
68526 Ladenburg
E-Mail | Web
Samstag, Sonntag und Mittwoch
von 14:00 - 18:00 Uhr

Eintrittspreise

Wer Kosten
Erwachsene EUR 5,00
Kinder EUR 3,00
Familienkarte (Eltern mit Kindern unter 14 Jahren) EUR 10,00
Gruppen ab 15 Personen (p. P.) EUR 4,00
Vortrag EUR 50,00
Gruppen nach Vereinbarung unter 06203 / 181786

Carl-Benz-Haus

Am 21. Juni 1905 kauften Bertha und Carl Benz das Anwesen unter der heutigen Adresse Dr.-Carl-Benz-Platz 2. Dazu gehört ein parkartiger, sich bis an die Schleife des Neckars hinziehender Garten. Unter den hohen Bäumen ließ Carl Benz eine im Stil eines wehrhaften Turms gehaltene Garage errichten, in der er seinen "Benz-Victoria" neben einer kleinen Werkstatt und einem Arbeitszimmer unterbrachte. In der Villa erlebte Carl Benz seine großen Ehrungen als Automobilpionier, hier lebte er bis zu seinem Tod im Jahr 1929; seine Frau Bertha starb im Jahr 1944. Beide sind in einem Ehrengrab auf dem Ladenburger Friedhof bestattet.

Im Gartengeschoss der Villa ist heute eine Ausstellung eingerichtet, die in erster Linie den Ingenieurleistungen von Karl Benz gewidmet ist. Gezeigt werden ein Nachbau des berühmten "Benz-Patent-Motorwagens" sowie Modelle von Zündung, Lenkung und Vergaser. Eine Reihe persönlicher Erinnerungsstücke sowie Informationen zum Leben von Carl Benz als Ingenieur, Unternehmer und Privatmann vermitteln obendrein eine lebendige Erinnerung an den großen Pionier des Automobils.

AnschriftÖffnungszeiten
Dr.-Carl-Benz-Platz 2
68526–Ladenburg
Tel.: 06203/10920
E-Mail

So. 14:30–17:30 Uhr

ab 14. Oktober 2017:
So. 14–17 Uhr

Ladenburger Auktionshaus mit Spielzeugausstellung

AnschriftÖffnungszeiten der Ausstellung
Lustgartenstraße 6
68526 Ladenburg
Tel.: 06203 / 13014
Fax: 06203 / 17193
E-Mail | Web
Dienstag - Sonntag: 9:00 - 19:00 Uhr